Tournament of Champions

The Tournament of Champions is the grand finale of the CKA tournament season. CKA established the Tournament of Champions in 2016 to reward the top 25 anglers in the AOY standings with an opportunity to fish for one last prize – a winner take all event. The competition has expanded to make qualification more competitive, the prizes more extensive and the event more fun. It is now a 2-day event, where the top 10 after day one advance to the second day, with payouts to the entire field of day 2.


The 2016 Tournament of Champions was a single day event held on the Yadkin River. The roster of qualified anglers competed for a single, winner take all prize. CKA veteran Denny Romero won the top prize with his 3 best fish on a cold, windy day.

The 2017 Tournament of Champions was held as a two day event on Lake Norman. It pitted the top 25 CKA anglers (a few roll down spots were included) against one another. Unlike the first edition of the Tournament of Champions, this was a 2 day event, with a 3/2, 5 fish aggregate limit. The top prize remained unchanged – the winner took home the entire entry purse. CKA veteran Melvin Yang won the 2017 Tournament of Champions with an 87′ limit. Tommy Xiong and PC Hawj rounded out the top 3 spots, and won additional prizes.

The 2018 Tournament of Champions was held October 13th & 14th on Falls Lake. A field of 24 anglers was cut to 10 for day two. Ronnie Murphy led the field on day 1, when he also won Big Bass with a 22.75″ fish. On Day 2, Joey Sullivan came back from 7th place on Day 1 to win 1st place with a two day limit of 149″. Calvin Keller (2nd place) and David Golding (3rd place) rounded out the top 3.


All text and photos © CKA 2014-2019