CKA Hall of Champions

Sponsored by

Carolina Kayak Anglers is a grassroots club run by and for its anglers. CKA anglers have repeatedly gone on to national prominence in the sport of kayak bass fishing, collectively winning hundreds of thousands of dollars and earning top sponsorships. All that accomplishment may have begun elsewhere when anglers were younger, but it was all fine tuned in one place: CKA.

Winning a CKA tournament requires scouting, pre-fishing, and flawless execution. One mistake can cost you a win, but one victory can feel like you reached the peak of Mount Olympus. It has been that way from the first event, when anglers who were seasoned against tough competition in the defunct Carolina Yakfish Trail (2010-2013) moved to CKA to join the new trail. CKA anglers were born directly into battle.

This page acknowledges those victors.

For the historical record, as of the end of the 2021 season,

  • As of 2022, Rick Rowland has the most 1st place wins, with 7. He is followed by PC Hawj (6), Bob Dainton (4), Keith McGee, Matt Hawj and Joey Sullivan (3 wins each). Jamie Denison, Jim Lor, Melvin Yang, Sammy Wilson, Buster Swisher, Christopher Decker, Henry Veggian and Jared Stanley have two wins each in competition.
  • Through the 2021 season and 78 events, 14 anglers have won 1st place multiple times for a total of 39 events, while 39 other anglers have won 1st place only once; that means that once in roughly every two events, a new angler wins first place.
  • 3 anglers have won both a single season event and a Tournament of Champions (TOC) in the same year.
  • In 2019 (Keith McGee) and 2021 (Jared Stanley), the CKA Rookie of the Year also won the Tournament of Champions.
  • Only two anglers (PC Hawj, 2017 and Rick Rowland, 2020) have ever won back to back single live events.
  • Only two anglers have won the same event in consecutive years. Bob Dainton won the Gate City Classic in 2018 and 2019 and Keith McGee won the Tournament of Champions in 2019 and 2020.
  • No angler has ever swept all 3 major titles (AOY, ROY and TOC). One angler (Charles Crews) won both the AOY and ROY in a single season (2020).
  • In more than 70 tournaments, a CKA director has won 1st place only five times (Cory Dreyer was co-champion of a team event at Randleman in 2017, Dreyer won the CKA event at Falls Lake (2022), Wayne Butler won at Lake Hickory in 2018 and Henry Veggian won Shearon Harris (2021) and a charity event – The Blair Fish Project in 2020).
  • Separate pages on our site are dedicated to the annual AOY and ROY titles.
  • Whenever possible we have tried to tag every angler’s social media profiles at least one time. Please follow and support your local trail champs.


Team Event (Randleman Reservoir): Record not found

(CKA Tournament Lake Randleman, Fall 2013)


Event 1 (Shearon Harris): Vang Yang, 1st Place

Event 2: (Randleman): Bryan Tsiolkas, 1st Place

Event  3 (Lake Reese): Record not found

Event 4 (Badin Lake): Shelly Efird, 1st Place

Event  5 (Yadkin River/High Rock): Dwayne Houser, 1st Place

Event 6 (Lookout Shoals, July): Record not found

Event 7 (Gate City Classic): Buster Swisher, 1st Place



Event 1 (Jordan Lake): Jeremy Coggins, 1st Place

Event 2 (Randleman): Matt Hawj, 1st Place

Event 3 (Shearon Harris): Bob Dainton, 1st Place

Event 4 (Yadkin): Rick Rowland, 1st Place

Event 5 (Tuckertown): John Ladd, 1st Place

Event 6 (Lake James): Vinny Ferreri, 1st place

Event 7 (Gate City Classic): P.C.  Hawj, 1st Place



Event 1 (Norman): Jamie Denison, 1st Place

Event 2 (Harris): Nomku Thao, 1st Place

Event 3 (Randleman): Rick Rowland, 1st Place

Event 4 (Falls): PC Hawj, 1st Place

Event 5 (Yadkin River): Richard Kennedy, 1st place

Team Event (Randleman): Cory Dreyer/Buster Swisher, 1st Place

Event 6 (Mackintosh): Jamie Denison, 1st place

Event 7 (Gate City): Rick Rowland, 1st place

Tournament of Champions (Yadkin River): Denny Romero, 1st Place


Event 1 (Norman): Melvin Yang, 1st Place

Event 2 (Falls): Brandon Jessup 1st place

Event 3 (Jordan) Mitch Rhodes, 1st place

Event 4 (Hickory):  Wayne Butler, 1st Place

Event 5 (Badin): PC Hawj, 1st place

Event 6 (Randleman): PC Hawj, 1st Place

Event 7 (Shearon Harris): Jim Lor, 1st  Place

Event 8 (Gate City): Tommy Xiong, 1st place

Tournament of Champions (Lake Norman) Melvin Yang, 1st place


Event 1 (Hyco): Bob Dainton, 1st Place

Event 2 (Hickory): Keith McGee, 1st Place

Event 3 (High Rock): PC Hawj, 1st Place

Event 4 (Kerr Scott): Jacob Shepherd, 1st Place

Event 5 (Shearon Harris): Jim Lor, 1st Place

Event 6 (Jordan): Rick Rowland, 1st Place

Event 7 (Mackintosh): PC Hawj, 1st Place

Event 8 (Gate City): Bob Dainton, 1st Place

Tournament of Champions (Falls Lake) Joey Sullivan, 1st Place



Event 1 (Burlington Bash): Melvin Yang, 1st Place

Event 2 (Jordan): Matt Hawj, 1st Place

Event 3 (High Rock): Joey Sullivan, 1st Place

Event 4 (Tuckertown): Sammy Wilson, 1st Place

Event 5 (Randleman): Will Lambert, 1st Place

Event 6 (Kerr Lake): Tim Sabella, 1st Place

Event 7 (Kerr Scott):  Keith McGee, 1st Place

Event 8 (Gate City Classic): Bob Dainton, 1st Place

Tournament of Champions (Jordan Lake): Keith McGee 1st Place

Bigguns for the Dunns: Mike Wimmer, 1st Place



Carolina Shootout: Joey Sullivan, 1st Place

Event 1 (Shearon Harris): Larry Moua, 1st Place,

Event 2: (Wild Card): Sammy Wilson, 1st Place,

Event 3 (Tuckertown): Charles Crews, 1st Place,

Event 4 (High Rock/Randleman): James Wevers, 1st Place,

Event 5 (Lake Hickory): Teng Vue, 1st Place

Event 6 (Cape Fear): Rick Rowland, 1st Place

Event 7 (Reese/Lucas): Rick Rowland, 1st Place

Event 8 (Gate City Classic):  Dustin Matthews, 1st Place

Tournament of Champions (Kerr Lake): Keith McGee, 1st Place

The Blair Fish Project: Henry Veggian, 1st Place


Event 1 (Shearon Harris): Henry Veggian, 1st Place

Event 2: Burlington Brawl: Christopher Decker, 1st Place

Event 3 (Kerr Scott): Nick Huddleston, 1st Place

Event 4 (Badin Lake): Preston Hampton, 1st Place

Event 5 (Falls Lake): Rick Rowland, 1st Place

Event 6 (Randleman): Marcus Smith 1st Place

Event 7 (Mayo/James): R. Murphy 1st Place (James), Jereme Olshefski (Mayo)

Event 8 (Gate City Classic): Matt Hawj 1st Place

2021 Tournament of Champions (Santee Cooper): Jared Stanley, 1st Place

2021 Gate City Classic
2021 Gate City Classic at Get Outdoors Pedal and Paddle


Event 1 (Falls Lake): Cory Dreyer , 1st place

Event 2 (Lake Mackintosh): Jeremy Hicks, 1st Place

Event 3 (Jordan Lake): Bruce Deal, 1st Place

Event 4 (Badin/Tillery) Christopher Decker 1st Place

Event 5 (East/West) Jared Stanley 1st Place


[Note: The research for this page was conducted using TourneyX event records, review of old posts to the CKA Facebook page and also internal documents held by CKA tournament directors.

To consult individual angler records, search anglers by name on TourneyCX or see the CKA club page on TourneyX here:

CKA began using TourneyX in 2017 and those events through 2021 can be searched there at—carolina-kayak-anglers/archive

CKA started using Fishing Chaos as a tournament management system in 2022; other events can be found there.

Partial records, including AOY standings and event standings, may also be found on the CKA Facebook Page.]